top of page
Honor Awards: Service

In 2018 only, the Board awarded a limited number of categories: our Gold Medal Award (the highest honor for outstanding lifetime service by an AIA member), the Richard Nickel Award (for "non-architect" citizens who lift up Architecture and the profession), and the President's Award.

Gold Medal for Outstanding Lifetime Service
Linda Searl, FAIA
2018: Linda Searl, FAIA

Linda has steadfastly guided the evolution of Chicago’s built environment for more than twenty-five years as a long-time member and nearly decade-long chair of the Chicago Planning Commission, all the while churning out a consistently beautiful body of work and managing a successful practice at Searl Lamaster Howe. Including her membership in Architectural Digest's AD100 and leadership positions at the national and local levels of AIA, she has led the informal Chicago Design Initiative, served on many boards of distinction and served as visiting professor at universities throughout the U.S. Read more

2017    Gaines Hall, FAIA

2016    James L. Nagle, FAIA and John F. Hartray, FAIA
2015    Carol Ross Barney, FAIA
2014    R. Thomas Jaeger, AIA
2012    Gary W. Anderson, AIA
2010    Donald J. Hackl, FAIA
2009    Walter J. Hainsfurther, III, FAIA
2008    Stanley Tigerman, FAIA
2007    Louis J. Garapolo, FAIA
2006    John M. Syvertsen, FAIA

Richard Nickel Award for Non-Architects
Lynn Osmond, Honorary AIA
2018: Lynn Osmond, Hon. AIA

Lynn has paved the way for the growth of “architectural tourism” around the globe for more than twenty years as the President and CEO of the Chicago Architecture Center and the founder of the Association of Architecture Organizations, which includes 160 international members.  The opening of CAC's grand new home in 2018 can be considered the crowning achievement of her career thus far. Read more

2017    Corda Murphy

2014    Ida "Pinky" Noll
2012    Gianfranco Grande
2009    Shirley J. Anderson, Hon. AIA

Charles W. Nothnagel Award for Public Service
Jim Law, FAIA
2017: Jim Law, FAIA

Jim has been a licensed architect since 1983 but didn't stay on the traditional career path. In the 90's as Deputy Commissioner of the Chicago Dept. of Cultural Affairs, he undertook the renovation and re-programming of the former Chicago Public Library into the Chicago Cultural Center. He then embarked on sixteen years in Tourism and Special Events for the City of Chicago. In 2013, he coordinated the VIEW CHICAGO legacy project creating a significant experiential memorial to Daniel Burnham and he currently serves as President of the Garfield Park Conservatory Alliance.

2016    Holly Gerberding, FAIA
2015    Michael A. Dixon, FAIA
2014    Gracia Maria Shiffrin, AIA
2012    Mike Jackson, FAIA
2010    Martin A. Alblinger, AIA
2009    Edward K. Uhlir, FAIA
2008    Paul W. O'Shea, AIA
2007    Enrique Unanue, Illinois Department of Public Health
2006    Michael Rogers, AIA

R. Buckminster Fuller Award for Social Good
Lamar Johnson, FAIA
2017: Lamar Johnson, FAIA

Lessons learned from Lamar's carefully chosen, life-enhancing projects resonate far beyond their locale, influencing urban policy, healthcare research, education and sustainability throughout the country. In 1998, he opened Gensler Chicago office with four people. Today, Gensler's 280-person staff volunteers at more than 100 not-for-profit, civic & charitable institutions in the Chicago area. In 2014 alone, they contributed more than 17,500 hours, amounting to over 1% of revenue for each of last six years; direct pro-bono services exceeded $2 million.

2016    Helen J. Kessler    
2015    Nora Ames & Katie Soven   
2014    Philip J. Enquist, FAIA
2013    Charles R. Newman, AIA    
2012    Katherine Darnstadt, AIA
2010    Jon Daniel Davey, AIA     
2009    Kevin K. Pierce, AIA    
2008    Douglas Milburn, Assoc. AIA    
2007    Martha A. Bell, AIA    
2006    Peter Lind, AIA    

John Wellborn Root for Emerging Professionals
Marc Teer, AIA
2016: Marc Teer, AIA

Mark is founder & CEO of Black Spectacles, an online learning platform helping young architects across the country prepare for the ARE. He has served as the chair of the AIA Chicago Young Architects Forum, igniting the entrepreneurial spirit of Chicago’s young architects through a series of workshops titled “Starting Your Own Design Firm." He also received a Presidential Citation for conception and leadership of an international design competition (for young architects) to redesign the AIA Chicago offices.

2015    Alexander P. Block, AIA
2014    Adam Lund, AIA
2013    April Hughes, AIA
2012    Jack Schroeder, AIA
2010    Brian J. Vitale, AIA
2009    Julianne Scherer, AIA
2008    Jeff Huck, AIA
2007    Mark J Ladd, AIA
2006    Lilija B. Gelazis, AIA

Nathan Clifford Ricker Award for Architecture Education
Dan Wheeler, FAIA, is featured center among a group of three others.
2017: Dan Wheeler, FAIA

Dan epitomizes the notion of architect teacher. Not content to lead one of Chicago's premier design firms, he is Professor of Architecture at UIC, has served as Interim Director for both the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts and the UIC School of Architecture and lectures frequently. He is called an "everpresent champion and mentor" for AIA Chicago's Bridge program, and selflessly, modestly, generously encourages and equips the next generation of citizen architects.

2014    Mark Taylor, Assoc. AIA
2013    Al Rusch, AIA
2010    Jack A. Kremers, AIA
2009    Michael Andrejasich, AIA
2008    Constantine D. Vasilios,  AIA
2007    Robert I. Selby, FAIA
2006    Anne Sullivan, AIA

Alan Madison Award for Diversity Work
Walter D Street, III, AIA
2017: Walter D Street III, AIA

Throughout his career, Walter has built bridges toward an equitable, inclusive and relevant architecture profession. His service includes president of AIA Chicago and INOMA, as well as service on the National Board including five years on the AIA/NOMA Diversity & Inclusion Committee. Walter is universally admired as wise counsel, teacher and advocate.

2016    Oswaldo Ortega, AIA
2014    Eben C. Smith, AIA, NCARB, NOMA, RRO
2013    Aurelien Tsemo, AIA
2012    Kenneth E. Casey, AIA

President's Award
Landmarks Illinois staff 2018
2018: Landmarks Illinois

2018 Board President Kim Kurtenbach can’t imagine how many of AIA Illinois' 200 Great Places might have been lost over the years without the work of Landmarks Illinois to preserve historic architecture, plus the strong legislative partnership with them which resulted in the state's first historic tax credit after a ten-year campaign. Read more

2017    PechaKucha Chicago

2016    AEC Cares
2015    National Council of Architectural Registration Boards
2013    archi-treasures
2012    Public Building Commission of Chicago
2010    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP's Chicago office
2009    Environmental Law and Policy Center
2007    Healthy Schools Campaign by the Illinois State Board of Education
2006    Illinois Historic Preservation Agency

2004    Kevin Sido, Esq.
2003    Illinois Building Research Council
2002    Mayor Karen Hasara, City of Springfield
2001    Corda Murphy, AIA Northeast Executive Director
2000    Albert W. Voirin, AVA Insurance Agency
1998    Newhouse Architecture Competition, Chicago Architecture Foundation
1997    Attorney General Jim Ryan
1996    Lawrence Kirkegaard, Hon. AIA
1995    Alice Sinkevitch, Hon. AIA
1994    Illinois Historic Preservation Agency   
1992    James Nowacki, Esq.
1991    Graham Foundation
1990    Chicago Architecture Foundation
1989    Landmarks Preservation Council
1988    Women's Architectural League
1987    Gary J. Skoien
1986    Shirley Norvell, Hon. AIA
1985    Museum of Science & Industry
1984    Chicago Architectural Assistance Center

bottom of page