top of page
  • Mary Young

“Women Who Built Illinois” Town Hall

Updated: Aug 21, 2020

A Town Hall took place August 13 at 3:00 p.m. via ZOOM which focused on the women who built and continue to build our state, as we recognize the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the US Constitution on August 18, 1920: “The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex.”

Lisa DiChiera, Director of Advocacy for Landmarks Illinois, and Landmarks Illinois Skyline Council volunteer Erica Ruggiero, Assoc. AIA (McGuire Igleski Architects) presented the organization’s “Women Who Built Illinois” project a database of places designed, engineered, and built by women between 1879 and 1979. In 2017, after including Gertrude Kerbis’ Rotunda building on the Most Endangered Historic Places in Illinois list, Landmarks Illinois launched the project to address the fact Chicago has yet to designate and protect a woman-designed building as a Chicago Landmark. The focus of the research has expanded statewide and will enable Landmarks Illinois to work with the public toward recognizing and protecting women-designed and built places throughout Illinois.

Following was a panel discussion with:  Ingedia Sanchez, architect at SOM, President of Arquitectos

April Hughes, AIA, Firm Owner and AIA Chicago Board President

Laura Fisher, FAIA (IPM Consulting), past president of AIA Chicago, co-founder of Chicago Women in Architecture.

Moderator: Janeen Harrell, AIA, NOMA, and AIA IL Board President

Sponsored by: Landmarks Illinois, AIA Chicago, and AIA Illinois

***Have any leads? We encourage you to reach out to Lisa DiChiera if you know women in your community who designed and built places between 1879 and 1979.


AIA Illinois, AIA Chicago, Landmarks Illinois


1 LU





Recent Posts

See All

Jeff Jeno, AIA, 2024 President

Dear fellow members and friends, May this letter find you well as we enter our 2024 membership year! I am honored to serve as this year’s state chapter president, in partnership with the chapter’s dis


bottom of page