top of page
  • Communications

The AIA ILLINOIS 2019 MIES VAN DER ROHE AWARD goes to the Washington | Wabash CTA Station

The 2019 AIA ILLINOIS MIES VAN DER ROHE award was presented to the Washington/Wabash CTA Station based upon its innovation in overall concept and design.

The award was presented during a private reception to the on 24 October 2019 at the offices of EXP.

As the 2019 Mies van der Rohe Award winner, AIA Illinois recognized the Washington/Wabash CTA Station, along with EXP’s architecture leaders for contributions to the profession, the transformative power of design and dedication to service and excellence. The Washington/Wabash Station, recognized as one of AIA Illinois’ 200 Great Places, has positively impacted citizens throughout Chicago with an iconic, enduring and sustainable design that serves to reconnect the “City of Neighborhoods” with the Loop, it’s iconic landmarks and Lakefront parks.

Contributors recognized for working on this project include:


Thomas Hoepf, FAIA

Jefrey Jakalski, AIA

Mindy Viamontes, AIA, OAA

Alzira Maldonado Protsishin, Assoc. AIA

Shankar Nair, PhD, PE, SE, NAE

Aram Ebben, IALD, CLD, LEED AP


Tom Carney, First Deputy Commissioner, CDOT

Dan Burke, PE, CDOT

Julian Silva, PE, CDOT

Rajiv Pinto, CDOT

James Steinkamp, James Steinkamp Photography

Tim Klein, Tim Klein Photography

All award winners have positively impacted citizens throughout the state of Illinois by helping create communities in which people are drawn to live and work, and to live healthier and happier.

Photo Credit: James Steinkamp Photography


bottom of page