top of page
  • Communications

Newberry Library is awarded the 2019 CROMBIE TAYLOR AWARD for preservation and restoration

Updated: Oct 30, 2019

The 2019 AIA ILLINOIS CROMBIE TAYLOR AWARD for Preservation and Restoration is given to the NEWBERRY LIBRARY for outstanding preservation and renovations of a historic building. A private award ceremony was held on 24 October 2019 at The Newberry Library.

The Newberry Library renovations balance preservation with contemporary design. Civic and welcoming, the project renews and reprograms historic spaces and establishes an illuminated streetscape, sharing collections and programs in a fully accessible setting.

Designed in 1893 by Henry Ives Cobb, this world famous research library was tired and much modified. The buildings is now accessible, with restored interiors, new visitors services, and free exhibitions and programs. Planning for this main floor renewal in 2017 was followed by extensive landmark and city reviews, and construction was completed in 2018.

Across the country, few such research institutions open their doors, without charge, to the public. With services, exhibitions, and programs, the Newberry’s stewardship, successful outreach to support this project, and its commitment to preservation with contemporary design are award-winning hallmarks.

Comments from the jury:

The Newberry Library is an excellent restoration and rehabilitation project of a high-character historic building.”

“As excellent an institutional preservation project as can be found; nice remodel and restoration.”

“Many well executed details within a complicated program and building; Wonderful project!” 

“The changes and upgrades to the building all fall into the category of enhancements to the design.  The installation of the display structures is well done, thoughtfully allowing the new pieces to be visually distinct, but of a quality and character consistent with the building.”

Participants in the restoration include:

· Alex Teller, Newberry Library

· William Bast, P.E. S.E, Thornton Tomasetti

· Sachin Anand, PE, LEED AP BD+C, db|HMS

· Ted Wolff, Wolff Landscape Architecture, Inc.

· Anne Voshel, AVA Consultants LLC

· Mike Lemmons, LEED AP, Bulley & Andrews

· Robert Shook, FASTC, FIALD, American Society of Theater Consultants

· Tom Rossiter, Tom Rossiter Photography

· BRUSH Architects

· John Pobojewski, Thirst

· Ann Beha Architects, (ABA)

All award winners have positively impacted citizens throughout the state of Illinois by helping create communities in which people are drawn to live and work, and to live healthier and happier.


bottom of page